Rouse Hill

Welcome home to Rouse Hill

Rouse Hill is continuing its development into a modern urban metropolis in Sydney’s fast-growing north-west growth corridor. Rouse Hill is located approximately 42 kilometres from the Sydney Central Business District and overlaps the local government areas of Blacktown City Council and The Hills Council. 

The suburb was first established in 1802 and was originally known as Vinegar Hill. The name change occurred in 1858, which was suggested by Governor Lachlan Macquarie. The suburb was named after the estate of Richard Rouse who was a prominent free settler arriving in the colony in 1801 and was given two land grants in the area. 

The new Rouse Hill was transformed into a community hub with the opening of the Rouse Hill Town Centre in March 2008, since then the area has seen massive growth and change. The opening of the Sydney Metro line in May 2019, is continuing to drive major growth and investment in the local area and will be a thriving city centre in the years ahead. 

Rouse Hill Demographics – Census 2016

Rouse Hill Demographics – Census 2011


Your Local Council

Blacktown City Council

Address: 62 Flushcombe Road, Blacktown NSW 2148

Phone: (02) 9839 6000

The Hills Shire Council

Address: 3 Columbia Court, Norwest NSW 2153

Phone: (02) 9843 0555 


Mobile Community Recycling Service

Book a free collection to remove problem waste from your home. (Please note that this service is available to residents of the Blacktown LGA).

Collection of paint cans, gas bottles, fire extinguishers, floor globes and tubes, household batteries, car batteries, motor oils, cooking oils and smoke detectors.